Ravenna (San Marino) Cruises Destination Information

The Stunning Main Port of Ravenna (San Marino)

Ravenna is the capital city of the Province of Ravenna in the Emilia-Romagna region of Italy. It was the capital city of the Western Roman Empire from 402 until that empire collapsed in 476. It then served as the capital of the Kingdom of the Ostrogoths until it was re-conquered in 540 by the Eastern Roman (Byzantine) Empire. Although an inland city, Ravenna is connected to the Adriatic Sea by the Candiano Canal. It is the location of 8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Eight early Christian monuments of Ravenna are inscribed on the World Heritage List. These are

  • Baptistry of Neon
  • Mausoleum of Galla Placidia
  • Arian Baptistry
  • Archiepiscopal Chapel
  • Basilica of Sant'Apollinare Nuovo
  • Mausoleum of Theoderic
  • Basilica of San Vitale
  • Basilica of Sant'Apollinare in Classe